2009 Burnaby Cablevision 1977 1979 1979 scaled

Burnaby Cablevision 1977 -79
Team  -  2009

The 1977-1979 Burnaby Cablevision Junior A lacrosse team dominated Junior Lacrosse in British Columbia and Canada from 1977 through 1979 winning 62 of 76 regular season league games and 24 of 26 playoff games while winning three consecutive Minto Cup Championships. In 1977, the Cables finished with a 27-1 record netting 579 regular season goals and held six of the top ten spots in league scoring. They defeated Whitby 4 games to 2 to win the first Minto Cup in Ontario by a BC team since 1953 – no British Columbia team has done so since. The 1978 Cablevision squad finished atop the West Canada Major Junior Lacrosse League with a 20- 3-1 record and swept Victoria and New Westminster to win the BC title. They once again met Whitby in the Minto Cup winning the series 4 games to1 for their second consecutive title. In 1979, Burnaby finished in second place in the West Canada Major Junior Lacrosse League with a 15 win and 9 loss record but peaked in the playoffs defeating New Westminster in the BC final 4 games to 1. The Cables would go on to beat Peterborough 8-6 in a one-game Minto Cup final for their third Minto Cup title in as many years.