gavin prout IMG 3162aBW John Goodyear

Gavin Prout
Player - Class of 2023

Gavin Prout has an extensive list of championship team wins and individual awards throughout his lacrosse career.

With Whitby Warriors (1995-1999) Jr A, Gavin won Minto Cups 1997 and 1999, 1998 - Dennis MacIntosh Memorial Trophy (Junior "A” MVP), 1999 - Bobby Allan Trophy (Top Scorer in Junior "A"), 1999 the E.W. Billy Evans Trophy (Top Graduating Player in Jr A) and also the Dean McLeod Trophy (MVP in Jr A playoffs).  

With the Brooklin Redmen Major trophies won included the 2000 - Mann Cup and Gene Dopp Trophy (Top Rookie).                   

In professional lacrosse he played with the Colorado Mammoth, the NLL Championship in 2006 (as team captain, was selected as an NLL All-Star on seven occasions, and his Colorado Mammoth sweater (Number 9) was officially retired.     

In the MLL, Professional Field Lacrosse, he was a member of four champion teams in the period 2002 through 2009.

Gavin also represented Canada in several field and indoor championships from 1996 to 2007. His Team Canada participation included a win of the gold medal in 2007 in box lacrosse and a field lacrosse bronze in 1996, silver in 2002, and gold in 2006.      

Highly respected by both teammates and opposition players as a good person, and a positive role model for players at all levels. In summary, during his career as consistently a top scorer and team leader, Gavin Prout was a truly a world class player and for these accomplishments in lacrosse, Gavin Prout was inducted into the Whitby Sports Hall of Fame in 2016.