2010 Peterborough PCOs 1972 1975 1974 scaled

Peterborough PCOs 1972 - 1975
Team  -  2010

Peterborough PCO’s (Junior) 1972-75 (Team 2010) – The 1972-75 Peterborough P.C.O.’s Junior A lacrosse team dominated Junior Lacrosse in Ontario and Canada from 1972-75 winning four consecutive Minto Cup Championships

.In 1972, the PCO’s finished with a perfect 28-0 regular season record finishing the year with 46 wins, 1 loss and 1 tie. Peterborough won the 1972 Minto Cup sweeping the Burnaby Cablevision four games straight.Peterborough lost their first game of the 1973 campaign but went on to post a 26-2 record. The PCO’s breezed through the eastern finals and met the Richmond Roadrunners in the Minto Cup. Peterborough took Richmond to seven games and won their second title in as many years.The 1974 Peterborough team again had a perfect regular season winning 28 games and losing none. This powerful team netted 606 goals for and only allowed 244 against. In the regular season, Peterborough had four players in the top ten league scoring – Paul Evans (180 points), JJ Johnston (156 points), Brian Evans (130 points) and Steve Plunkett (117 points). The PCO’s went on to amass 46 straight victories and win another national title sweeping the Burnaby Cablevision 4-0.In 1975, the Junior team changed their name to the Gray Munros. After a slow start they would finish in first place with a 26-5-1 record. They once again advanced to the Minto Cup finals by winning their two series by 4-1 records. Burnaby traveled east to take on Peterborough and won the first game of the Minto Cup 10-8, but the eastern champs proved too much and won 4 games in a row, thus winning their fourth Minto Cup Championship in four years.